Home / Politics / Transition team to be inaugurated today
President John Mahama (r) and Nana Akufo-Addo

Transition team to be inaugurated today

A 20-Member Transition Team that will see to a successful swearing-in of newly elected President, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, on January 7 has been named.

It is made up of politicians from both parties led by former Finance Minister Yaw Osafo Marfo of the NPP and Chief of Staff Julius Debrah of the NDC.

Below is a statement issued by Communications Minister Edward Omane Boamah:

Further to the provisions of the Presidential Transition Act 2012 (Act 845), President John Dramani Mahama has appointed the following as members of the Transition Team:

1. Julius Debrah- Chief of Staff
2. Marietta Brew Appiah Opong – Attorney General and Minister for Justice
3. Seth E. Terkper – Minister for Finance
4. Prosper Bani – Minister for the Interior
5. Dr Benjamin Kunbour – Minister for Defence
6. Hanna S. Tetteh – Minister for Foreign Affairs & Regional Integration
7. Alhaji Collins Dauda – Minister for Local Government & Rural Development

Representing the President-elect, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, are:
1. Yaw Osafo Maafo – Representative of the President-elect
2. Frema Osei Opare – Head of the Staff of Office of the President-elect
3. Gloria Akuffo – Member responsible for Legal Affairs
4. Ken Ofori- Atta – Member responsible for Finance
5. Ambrose Dery – Member responsible for the Interior
6. Dominic Nitiwul – Member responsible for Defence
7. Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey – Member responsible for Foreign Affairs
8. Hajia Alima Mahama – Member responsible for Local Government
9. Albert Kan Dapaah – Member responsible for National Security

In accordance with the provisions of the Presidential Transition Act 2012 (Act 845), the following are statutory members of the Transition Team:

1. Head of the Civil Service
2. Head of the Local Government Service
3. Secretary to the Cabinet
4. National Security Coordinator

The Transition Team, which will be co-chaired by President John Dramani Mahama and Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, the president-elect, will be inaugurated on Sunday December 11, 2016 at 5pm.


Edward K. Omane Boamah (Dr)
Minister for Communications
December 10, 2016.

Source: www.TopNewsGhana.com


Check Also

John Dumelo to announce bid for Ayawaso West Wuogon seat Monday

  Popular Ghanaian actor-turned politician John Dumelo will on Monday announce his intention to contest the Ayawaso West Wuogon parliamentary seat on the ticket of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), sources within the party confirmed to 3News Friday. Some key figures within the New Patriotic Party and the National Democratic ...