Home / Politics / Avoka, Woyongo Kicked Out

Avoka, Woyongo Kicked Out


Three Members of Parliament (MPs) of the governing National Democratic Congress (NDC) in the Upper East Region have been booted out and will not return to parliament in January 2017. Mr. Mark Woyongo for Navrongo Central constituency and former Upper East Regional minister, Mr. Cletus Avoka, former majority leader in Parliament and Mr. David Adakurugu of Tempane, all lost to the opposition New Patriotic Party (MPS) in the last Wednesday’s presidential and parliamentary elections.

In the Zibilla constituency, Mr. Avoka, lost narrowly to Dr. Frank Fuseini Adongo of the NPP as the former polled 22,121 votes as against the latter who obtained 22, 361 votes. In the Navrongo central constituency, former MP, Mr. Joseph Kofi Adda of the NPP recaptured the seat after he obtained 20,667 votes while Mr. Woyongo polled 17,203 votes. The third loser was Mr. David Adakurugu, former District Chief Executive for Tempane and incumbent MP who lost to a renowned lawyer in the region, Mr. Joseph Dindiok Kpemka. Mr. Kpemka polled 13, 363 while his closest contender Adukurugu polled 10,697 votes.
Apart from claiming these three seats, the NPP’s presidential candidate, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo also made gains by increasing his votes margin in most constituencies. However, the only incumbent NPP MP in the region, Mr. Boniface Gambila of the Nabdam Constituency lost his seat to NDC’s Dr. Mark Kurt Nawaane.

One seat the NPP tipped to have won was the Bolgatanga central constituency where Mr. Rex Asanga was racing five others including NDC’s Isaac Adongo whose win came as a surprise to many election watchers in the region and constituency.

At the end of polls Wednesday, Mr. Adongo won the seat by polling 25,042 representing 51.41% whole Mr. Asanga polled 15,610 representing 32.04%.

Meanwhile, the mood of residents across the region was subdued as results trickled in and were been projected by the media and political parties especially with the NPP claiming victory. Supporters, executives and sympathizers of the NDC and NPP certainly could not jubilate because none of them was not certain of victory.

Below were results that were available at the time of filing this report.
Tempane constituency

PPP : 2,306
NDC : 10,697
Npp : 13,363
CPP : 132
Ind :2925
Rejected : 885
Vote cast : 30308
Total registered: 44,227

CPP : 323
NDC : 14901
NDP : 69
PPP : 1,326
NPP: 11,737
Ind: 686
Rejected vote :1271
Total vote cast : 30,490

Nabdam constituency
CPP 65
NDP 28
NDC 9,211
PPP 87
NPP 5,983
PNC 83
IND 26
Rejected 418
Total votes cast 15,900

NDC 9,250
NPP 6,360
Rejected 308
TVC 15,610

Builsa South Constituency Presidential


Garu constituency.
NDC 14484,
NDP 47
NPP 8806
PNC 127
Independent 44.

Parliamentary results.
NDC 12,899
NPP 10,856
NDP 93
CPP 48
Independent 52.

Source: TopNewsGhana.com


Check Also

Apologize for insulting me – Togbe Afede to Freddie Blay, NPP

President of the National House of Chiefs, Togbe Afede, is demanding an immediate apology from the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) and its National Chairman, Freddie Blay, for ” insulting and disrespecting” him. Togbe Afede’s request comes on the back of a story published by a newsportal; Mynewsgh, claiming that ...